Loading...

Sugarbag Safaris wants to provide you with a unique and amazing experience of the Top End of Australia. If we've had the privilage of having you onboard one of our tours please send your feedback via our contact form and we will post them below.......Cheers!

We expected a great tour of a beautiful park but got so much more! Hamish was a superb tour guide -- a profound introduction to flora and fauna.  We saw birds we never would have glimpsed since Hamish recognized them from great distances and by their calls.  We learned about trees, terrain, seasonal variation, plants, edible and functional and so much more. Most of all, Hamish provided us with a deep understanding of Aboriginal culture and life, contemporary and modern.  He connects thoroughly to Aboriginal people, their accomplishments over 50,000 years and their modern needs and concerns.  When Hamish asked us after four days of touring, what the best part of our journey was, we simply said, "You."

 

 

Ellen Boneparth, Washington DC and Michael Rosenthal, New York City 10/2016

Hamish shared with us his best kept secrets around the NT national parks. He constantly surprised us with unique campsites, healthy campfire cooked meals, knowledge of the land and it's people and interesting anecdotes. We felt well looked after the entire trip - Hamish is very thoughtful and accommodating, even making extra stops for ice-cream! We loved camping out under the stars, making friends with a bunch of great people and swimming in the amazing waterfalls. Would recommend this tour to anyone interested in exploring the real NT, the smaller group size and Hamish's attention to detail can not be beaten! Thanks again for an amazing introduction to the NT Hamish!

 

j.tregoweth85 07/2016
We had an amazing time on a private 4 day/3 night tour of Kakadu and Litchfield national park. Hamish was a fantastic guide and took us to some of the best spots in the parks. the food prepared by Hamish was wonderful and the children loved toasting marshmallows on the fire. the mosquito netting tents and comfy swags were great. thanks Hamish for a wonderful holiday.
 
 

 

jrd 08/2015

“Sugarbag Safaris - 5 day Kakadu, Katherine and Litchfield” Tripadvisor August 2015

Well done Hamish. You manage to share your passion for the spectacular environment, the plants and animals with in it, and the Aboriginal culture with knowledgable aplomb. To the future clients you will be served tasty meals under the stars and have many fabulous geographical treats too as you traverse Kakadu, Litchfield and my personal favourite, canoeing the sensational Katherine Gorge! A proud northern environment presented with organised simplicity and pride! Enjoy!

 

Sally00001

“Trip of a lifetime! Hamish is awesome and met great new friends.” Tripadvisor April 2015

This is something you have to do - a Sugarbag Safari. Skip the touristy tours and get into it! (While being spoilt and thoroughly looked after by Hamish). Hamish has a fabulous set-up that made this non-camper seriously think about taking up camping! He gets you in (and out) of the famous spots before the tour bus masses descend. He also has enormous local knowledge and access to areas other tours don't go, and has a great sense of humour, so you will be thoroughly entertained one way or another the whole trip. Mind you, the star gazing by a slow camp fire listening to the sounds of the bush was magic. I am a single, independent female traveller and had a ball. Met great people and highly recommend.

Visited July 2014

 

Soozi7

“Sugarbag Safaris - 5 Day Tour” TripAdvisor October 2014

This 4WD tour was an amazing way to see the best of the Top End and Hamish was a friendly and knowledgeable guide. The small number of guests (max. 9) made it easy to get to know everyone well and it really felt like a personal experience. I would recommend this trip to anyone with a sense of adventure who is interested in exploring the nature, wildlife, history and culture of the beautiful Northern Territory.

Visited September 2014

 

Laura M

“Sugarbag Safaris” TripAdvisor September 2014

Sugarbag Safaris was an amazing way to see the Top End of Australia. The tour was so well organised, Hamish was great and very knowledgable of the area. His skills over a campfire were also incredible, delicious food was exactly what we needed after a lovely day of walking through Kakadu. I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to see this amazing part of Australia to go with Hamish and Sugarbag Safaris!

Visited August 2014

 

Anna T

What an AMAZING 5 days!!!

What an AMAZING 5 days!!! Great scenery, great company, great guide! Can't wait to get back up there and sleep under the stars. Thanks for such a terrific tour!!!!

Natalie

Thanks for an awesome trip

Thanks for an awesome trip, it was a great way to see the sights of the Territory and your knowledge was amazing. Really enjoyed sleeping under the stars on comfy swags without having to worry about the mosquitoes!

Hamish

Awesome trip - Thank you!

We did the 5 day tour with Hamish in late June 2012. We were really impressed with Hamish's very extensive knowledge on such a wide range of topics. It's a great tour for doing a wide range of activities and really getting out and seeing the Top End. We found the food to be fantastic - amazing what Hamish could do every night over a campfire. Camping out under the stars was a definite highlight, so was swimming in all the water holes. Thanks again Hamish for a great trip

Beth

Best Trip - Best Tour Guide

We spent 5 days traveling through the best parts of Australia,- What a fantastic tour it was! Thanks to Hamish, our guide, we visited places what you can only see in the movies, it was incredible! His knowledge, care and passion is inspiring. Well organized tour, worth every penny, the experience is priceless! We will definitely be back soon!!!!

Sandra

Memories for a life time

Throughout our 5 day tour our guide Hamish was friendly, patient, professional and provided us with endless knowledge of the areas we where visiting not to mention showed passion and care for the environment souronding us. The whole tour was very well organised and his cooking skill's over a camp fire had us all licking our plates clean every night "Yum" The breathtaking views of every day will be remebered for a life time and thanks for getting us on to the awesome star app for I phone. Hamish and Sugar Bag Safaris will be highly recomened to all our friends and family who wish to visit the NT.

Andrea

What a great break!

This was such a fantastic trip! There was camping, hiking, swimming, kayaking and great food! It was such a great break from work and winter. Plus I got to make some new friends. Hamish is great guide, he took us to some beautiful places and made the trip really easy to do. Thanks Hamish for an awesome time :-)

Anne-Marie

Definately Recommend Hamish and Sugarbag

Recently went on the 5 day safari with Hamish and Sugarbag safaris and loved every minute of it. From the amazing sunrises to the beautiful sunsets, each day was full of wonder. Australia is such a beautiful place and Hamish is a tourguide who knows all the sites to visit up north. Also had the pleasure of meeting some great people on the tour, interesting wildlife and locals along the way! All such great memories. Thank you.

Jodi

Fantastic trip!

Fantastic trip! Sugarbag safaris is an outstanding outfit and I couldn't recommend it more highly. Hamish (our guide, group leader etc), was outstanding in his knowledge, generosity and help whenever required. In five short days (but as a blessing it felt much longer) I really felt we had given kakadu, nitmiluk and litchfield parks a decent nudge in terms of getting an idea of what it was about. That said, the quality of the tour will guarantee i come back again to keep learning (actually i shared the tour with someone who was on their second time back with sugarbag - speaks volumes doesn't it?). The itenerary was very well paced, and adaptive and flexible where required. This really impressed me. If your picking a way to do kakadu and NT in general this is certainly the way to do it. Maybe twice.

Noah

Dear Hamish

Dear Hamish, I just wanted to say a huge thanks for the recent trip up to the Top End with Sugarbag Safaris. Your tour was amazing, with everyday something different, unique and exciting to experience. Having someone like yourself as our guide was truly special- passionate, friendly, keen to impart all your wealth of knowledge and sharing the best of what our beautiful country has to offer. With the time spent experiencing stories of an ancient culture, to seeing cool wildlife, swimming in quiet secluded rock pools, learning about all the flora as well as being awed by the millions of stars, each little component to me was rejuvinating and inspiring. From all the safe driving, to the preparation and shopping behind the scenes, to having the meals prepared and also the little hidden gems that you showed us on the tour, it was all much appreciated. I have come back to my busy city life refreshed with a big smile on my face and a skip in my step, keen to get back out to see more of our 'backyard' as soon as possible.

James

Sugarbag Safaris was amazing

Sugarbag Safaris was an amazing way to see the Top End of Australia. The tour was so well organised, Hamish was great and very knowledgable of the area. His skills over a campfire were also incredible, delicious food was exactly what we needed after a lovely day of walking through Kakadu. I would highly recommend to anyone wanting to see this amazing part of Australia to go with Hamish and Sugarbag Safaris!

Anna T

I’d like to offer my sincere

I’d like to offer my sincere thanks to Sugarbag Safaris for an incredibly memorable first trip to the Northern Territory. It’s pretty rugged country on the surface, but owner/operator Hamish really showed me why people come from across the globe to see it; there’s something truly remarkable about Kakadu, Nitmiluk and Litchfield. He almost always got us to sites before anyone else arrived; swimming in Barramundi Gorge with just the tour group was a wonderful experience. Anyone on the fence about canoeing on the fourth day shouldn't be; Katherine Gorge is one of the most beautiful natural sites that I've ever seen. Further, having never really camped before, I must applaud Hamish on his organisation. The swags were genuinely comfortable, the tents a breeze to set up and Hamish's cooking kept us all happily fed for the entire trip. I should note that despite the busy itinerary, at no point did I feel rushed; at every site, I truly felt like I’d had my fill before we had to move on. Also, I’ll extend my thanks to the other four members of the group; you all really helped to make it a great experience. There are plenty of cool surprises along the way, but rather than tell you I encourage anyone reading this to go on the 5 day tour with Sugarbag Safaris and find out for themselves. You won’t regret it and you’ll never forget it.

DownUnderWayfarer

5 day safari May 2012

We have just arrived back from a fantastic 5 day tour! Hamish, our guide, was so knowledgeable, well organised and friendly. The tour bus and trailer were very well kitted out and we just had a ball!! it was fun camping, especially on the last night at the bush camp (optional), and there were plenty of opportunities for a swim in gorgeous crystal clear waterfall pools. There were beautiful walks and cruises and we saw all kinds of plants/animals/insects and snakes!! the food was great and even with a variety of dietry requirements seemed easy!I cannot reccommend this your highly enough, it was great and extremely well priced! I hope Hamish goes on to do very well with sugarbag. THANKYOU!!

Bryony Mann